School Board Zones & School Districts Update

The Arkansas GIS Office is pleased to announce the publication of revised School Board Zones based on redistricting efforts throughout the state. A.C.A. § 6-13-1417 requires school districts to file a digital map detailing the election zone boundaries in compliance with the Voting Rights Act of 1965.  Additional School Districts will be added later as new zones are recorded with the Office.

A very special thank you goes out to numerous private and public sector organizations who worked tirelessly to ensure our local governments were served during these important local redistricting processes.  Due to the COVID-19 global pandemic, the 2020 Census Redistricting Data files were released nearly six months behind schedule.  This delay in the delivery schedule created extraordinary circumstances under which school board rezoning took place.

We would like to specifically acknowledge actDataScout, Eagle Forestry Services (EFS), Metroplan, Northwest Regional Planning Commission (NWARPC), Western Arkansas Planning & Development (WAPDD), and other independent contractors who delivered the data in the state standard. The delivery in the standard format and schema allowed the Office to rapidly organize and publish the new zones in a timely manner.

Thank you also to our state partners at the Arkansas Secretary of State – Elections Division and the Arkansas Department of Education who assisted in coordinating our communication efforts with School Districts.

The below School Districts have been rezoned:

Alpena Dover Huntsville Ouachita River
Arkadelphia Dumas Jacksonville Ozark
Armorel East End Jasper Palestine/Wheatley
Atkins East Poinsett County Junction City Paris
Augusta El Dorado Kirby Pea Ridge
Bay Elkins Lafayette County Pottsville
Beebe Emerson-Taylor-Bradley Lakeside #1 (Chicot County) Prairie Grove
Bentonville Eureka Springs Lamar Rivercrest
Berryville Farmington Lavaca Riverview
Bismarck Fayetteville Lead Hill Rogers
Blevins Fordyce Lincoln Russellville
Booneville Forrest City Lonoke Siloam Springs
Caddo Hills Fort Smith Magnolia Smackover
Camden Fairview Gentry Malvern South Conway County
Centerpoint Gosnell Mansfield South Pike County
Charleston Gravette Marion Springdale
Cleveland County Green Forest Marked Tree Strong-Huttig
Clinton Greenland Mayflower Stuttgart
Conway Greenwood McCrory Trumann
Cossatot River Gurdon McGehee Two Rivers
Cotter Guy-Perkins Mena Valley View
County Line Hamburg Mineral Springs Van Buren
Cross County Hampton Monticello Vilonia
Crossett Harmony Grove (Saline) Mountainburg Waldron
Danville Harrison Mulberry/Pleasant View West Fork
Decatur Hector Nashville West Memphis
DeQueen Hermitage Nemo Vista Western Yell County
Dermott Hope Newport Westside
Dierks Horatio Osceola Wonderview


The below districts either have plans to rezone or we are awaiting receipt of their new zones

Alma Cedarville Helena/ West Helena
Barton-Lexa Clarendon Marvell-Elaine
Bearden Clarksville Pine Bluff
Benton Des Arc Sheridan
Brinkley England Southside  (Independence County)
Cabot Foreman Warren
Carlisle Hackett White County Central
Cedar Ridge Harmony Grove  (Ouachita) White Hall


Along with an update to School Board Zones, we have also updated Public School Districts with boundary corrections to Cave City, Cedar Ridge, Clinton, Cross County, Deer/Mt. Judea, Forrest City, Jasper, Ozark Mountain, Palestine/Wheatley, Shirley and Wynne.

GIS users should pay specific attention to the publication metadata. *Special Note – where applicable, all School Districts have been aligned to the newest version of County Boundaries. All new and existing School Board Zones have been aligned to School Districts.

To view how to download these datasets please see below.

School Board Zones

Public School District Boundary (polygon)