Data Update: School Districts and School Board Zones

The Arkansas GIS Office has published school district corrections for the Batesville, Cave City, Cedar Ridge, Midland and Southside Districts. These corrections were made possible by Independence County personnel. We would especially like to thank and recognize Susie Compton, Deputy Assessor in the Independence County Assessor Office and Tracey Mitchell, County Clerk in the Independence County Clerk Office for the research they conducted of historic courthouse records. They assisted in locating Independence County Board of Education records from 1950, 1973, and 1977. These records document the written legal boundaries of past school district annexations, where territory was annexed from one district to another. The School Board Zones in these correction areas was also adjusted to be coincident with the legal boundary.

GIS users can download or access feature services for the revised information at the following: