LITTLE ROCK –  Governor Mike Beebe announced the following appointments to the State GIS Board on October 14, 2014.

Sharon Hawkins, of Little Rock, her appointment expires August 1, 2018. Sharon replaces Jonathan Sweeney.

William “Grant” Tennille, of Little Rock, His appointment expires August 1, 2018. Grant replaces Bekki White.

Earlier, in September the Governor appointed Matthew Hodges, of Little Rock. His appointment expires August 1, 2018. Matt replaces Tracy Moy.

Both Tracy Moy and Bekki White had served two full terms (eight years) and were no longer eligible to serve as state agency representatives.  Jon Sweeney had served one full term (four years) and declined reappointment as he anticipates the possibility of retirement in the next four years.

“These outgoing Board members served the State exceptionally well,” said Shelby Johnson, State Geographic Information Officer.  Highlights during their terms on the Board included; oversight on the establishment of the Arkansas Geographic Information Office as a State Agency, creation of a Strategic Plan, completion of the statewide centerline file, the launch of the parcel mapping grant program and numerous other activities.

These appointments finalize the representation by three State Agencies required by the Board’s enabling legislation.

On news of the appointments, GIS Board Chair, Dr. Margaret McMillan stated, “On behalf of the Arkansas Geographic Information Systems board, I would like to welcome our new members. We are excited about the expertise that Matt Hodges, Sharon Hawkins and Grant Tenille bring to the board. We look forward to their contributions to helping our state make the best use of spatial information for solving problems.”

More information about the new Board is located here.